The Irish Endodontic Society was founded in 1988 at a meeting in a night-club, in Power’s Hotel in Kildare Street, an auspicious location given the nature of the speciality i.e. there was limited visibility and it was an underground site.

The idea had been mooted to found a national society the previous year, following a visit and lecture by Dr. Chris Stock to the Metropolitan Branch of the IDA, presided over- at the time – by Dr. Leo Heslin. Dr. Maria Jennings and Dr. Ciamh O’Broin drew up a constitution, based on that of the British Endodontic Society, and the first meeting was called which was attended by approximately 30 interested dentists, from private practice and the Dublin Dental Hospital. The late Professor Norman Butler acted as Chairman and gave a short lecture. A committee was elected with Dr. John Holmes as President, Dr, Maria Jennings as Hon. Secretary, and Dr. Bill Cosgrave as Hon Treasurer. It was decided at this meeting to make the Society an independent unit as opposed to a sub- section of the Irish Dental Association.

A programme of 5-6 meetings with talks by members during the academic year and an Annual Scientific Meeting incorporating a Trade Show with invited International speakers was proposed and that has been the successful formula to date. Many distinguished U.K, U.S, European and home grown endodontists have come to Dublin to lecture to the members at the annual Meetings, and Irish and UK dental suppliers have loyally supported the Society over the years.

A major event in the Society’s history was the hosting of the European Society of Endodontology’s 12th Biennial Meeting in Dublin in September 2005. This was held in Trinity College, Dublin and was the most successful meeting to that date. At that time, Dr. Lynda Elliott was the President of the ESE, Dr. Johanna Glennon was the President of the IES, and aided by Dr. Maria Jennings, Chair of the Organising Committee, with the support of all the members , especially Dr. Mary Egan, Dr. Paul McCabe and Dr. Frank Gallagher, a most successful academic and social event was enjoyed by 1200 participants.

As the society grew larger, secretarial help was needed and a post of Administrator was added, which has been filled with great skill to date by Ms. Katrina Lawless. This position has now been taken by Ms. Sandra Duffy and we hope she will enjoy the experience.

The Society continues to promote endodontics to the dental and wider public. It sponsors an Annual Essay Competition for all Irish-based dental students and this award has been kindly sponsored by Orascoptic Loupes .The Society welcomes new members to contact the Administrator if interested in joining. The date of the next meeting will be found on the News/Events page.


IES Committee 2023 – 2024

President: Dr Graham Quilligan

Secretary: Dr Greg Creavin

Treasurer: Dr. Aisling Donnelly

Committee members: Dr Mary Egan, Dr Conor McLister, Dr JaneO’Regan

European Representative: Dr. Roberto Careddu

Administrator: Ms. Sandra Duffy


Past Presidents

1988-1990 Dr. John Holmes.

1990-1992 Dr. Patrick Cleary.

1992-1994 Dr. William Cosgrave.

1994-1996 Dr. Maria Jennings.

1996-1998 Dr. Aongus Roche.

1998-2000 Dr. Michael Darcy.

2000-2002 Dr. Frank McCrea.

2002-2004 Dr. Patrick Beausang.

2004-2006 Dr. Johanna Glennon.

2006-2008 Dr. Frank Gallagher.

2008-2010 Dr. Mary Rafter.

2010-2012 Dr. Ciaran O’Driscoll

2012-2014 Dr. Hal Duncan

2014-2016 Dr. Conor Durack

2016-2018 Dr. Fergus Duddy

2018-2020 Dr Sile Lennon

2020 – 2022 Dr Mary Egan